Two Boston-area Ford dealers are five dollars apart on the same Explorer lease, and the cheaper number is the one with less information attached. Herb Chambers Ford of Braintree posts $374 a month on a 2026 Explorer Active 4WD with no mileage allowance and no expiration date shown. Quirk Ford in Quincy posts $379 a month on the same trim, on a truck priced $1,355 higher, with $9,000 in total savings and every term in print. Both undercut Ford's own featured lease for the Boston area. Here is the full picture for October 2026.
The two deals, side by side
Herb Chambers Ford of Braintree — $374/mo. The card advertises a 2026 Ford Explorer Active 4WD at $374 a month for 36 months with $2,999 down, documentary preparation included, on a truck with a $48,920 MSRP. A zero-down alternative, $499 a month, sits on the same card. What the card does not state: a mileage allowance, an expiration date, or a credit tier. Quirk Ford (Quincy) — $379/mo. Quirk's specials page lists a 2026 Explorer Active AWD at $379 a month for 36 months, and it shows its work: MSRP $50,275, Quirk Price $42,774, built from $4,000 in customer cash plus a $5,000 Quirk discount. The disclaimer gives the mileage (7,000 miles a year), the stock number (F214793), a trade-assistance condition, and an October 31 end date.
2026 Ford Explorer Active AWD — Quirk Ford, Quincy
$379/mo
36 months · $2,999 down (plus fees) · 7,000 mi/yr
MSRP $50,275 · Quirk Price $42,774 · $9,000 total savings ($4,000 customer cash + $5,000 Quirk discount)
Trade assistance requires a 2010-or-newer trade · Ends Oct 31, 2026
2026 Ford Explorer Active 4WD — Herb Chambers Ford, Braintree
$374/mo
36 months · $2,999 down · MSRP $48,920 · Documentary prep included
The lowest headline payment — mileage allowance and expiration date not disclosed on the card
Zero-down alternative on the same card: $499/mo
2026 Ford Explorer Active 4WD — Ford.com factory lease
$389/mo
36 months · $5,059 due at signing · 10,500 mi/yr implied by the 31,500-mile cap
Restricted to trade-in customers and current lessees · Includes $500 Trade-In Assistance Bonus Cash
Take delivery by Nov 16, 2026
2026 Ford Explorer Active w/ Comfort Package — Jannell Ford, Hanover
$499/mo
36 months · Only $1,498 due at signing
31,500-mile cap at $0.20 per excess mile
Offer runs Oct 9 through Nov 2, 2026
Every published Explorer lease we found
| Dealer | Model | Payment | Term | Due at signing | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Herb Chambers Ford of Braintree | 2026 Explorer Active 4WD | $374/mo | 36 mo | $2,999 down | Live — mileage and end date not disclosed |
| Quirk Ford (Quincy) | 2026 Explorer Active AWD | $379/mo | 36 mo | $2,999 down + fees | Live — ends Oct 31, 2026 · 7,000 mi/yr |
| Ford.com (factory) | 2026 Explorer Active 4WD | $389/mo | 36 mo | $5,059 | Live — trade-in/lessee customers only |
| Herb Chambers Ford of Braintree | 2026 Explorer Active 4WD — zero down | $499/mo | 36 mo | $0 down | Live — mileage and end date not disclosed |
| Jannell Ford (Hanover) | 2026 Explorer Active w/ Comfort Pkg | $499/mo | 36 mo | $1,498 | Live — through Nov 2, 2026 |
| Ford.com (factory) | 2026 Explorer Active w/ Comfort Pkg | $499/mo | 36 mo | $1,498 | Live — same factory program as Jannell |
| Ford.com (factory) | 2027 Explorer Active 4WD | $429/mo | 36 mo | $4,939 | Live — take delivery by Jan 4, 2027 |
| Ford.com (factory) | 2027 Explorer Active | $495/mo | 48 mo | $4,543 | Live — 10,500 mi/yr |
| Ford.com (factory) | 2027 Explorer ST-Line | $554/mo | 48 mo | $5,175 | Live — 10,500 mi/yr |
| Ford.com (factory) | 2027 Explorer ST | $675/mo | 48 mo | $6,242 | Live — 10,500 mi/yr |
| McGovern Ford (Framingham) | — | — | — | — | No Explorer lease published |
| Bonnell Ford (Winchester) | — | — | — | — | No Explorer lease published |
Payments are the advertised figures as published; dealer cards differ in what they disclose, and the fine-print notes below matter as much as the monthly number.
How to read the $5 gap
Equipment. The two trucks are the same trim and drivetrain, but not the same truck: Quirk's carries a $50,275 MSRP against Herb Chambers' $48,920. Quirk's $9,000 in combined savings is also the deeper published discount of the two — the Herb Chambers card does not break out a discount at all. Transparency. Quirk's offer states its mileage, stock number, conditions, and end date; the $374 card states none of those, so its true mileage allowance and deadline are questions a shopper has to ask. Mileage cuts the other way. Quirk's 7,000 miles a year is tight for a family SUV, and Ford's own factory lease allows 10,500 — a household that drives more should price that difference before chasing the lowest payment.
Read the fine print
Quirk's headline reads "$2,999 due at signing," but its disclaimer describes $2,999 as cash down with tax, title, registration, acquisition, and doc fees additional — the true drive-off is higher. Quirk's inventory page also prices the same stock number (F214793) at $41,911 with a $4,863 discount, while the specials page shows $42,774 with a $5,000 discount; confirm which figure governs before signing. On Ford's side, the factory's own payment estimator showed $4,612 due for the 2027 Active lease where the offers page showed $4,543. Muzi Ford in Needham, checked for this comparison, appears to be permanently closed.
The Explorer in brief
Ford sells both the 2026 and 2027 Explorer locally. The 2027 lineup starts at $38,680 across five models — Active, ST-Line, Tremor, Platinum, and ST — and seats up to seven, with second-row captain's chairs (six seats) standard and a bench available on most trims. The 2026 range starts at $38,465 with the same trim ladder. Every lease in this comparison is on the Active, the volume trim; the higher trims appear only in Ford's 48-month factory pricing above.
Dealer ratings
Google ratings, which we prioritize: Quirk Ford is rated 4.5 from 1,066 reviews; Herb Chambers Ford of Braintree is rated 4.5 from 1,817 reviews; Jannell Ford is rated 4.5 from 1,001 reviews. A three-way tie on stars — the decision here really does come down to the deal terms.
Our take
If the lowest number is all that matters, Herb Chambers' $374 is it — with a mileage allowance and end date you will need to confirm. If you want the deal you can verify before you visit, Quirk Ford's $379 is the stronger documented offer: a higher-priced truck, $9,000 in published savings, and every condition in print, at the cost of a tight 7,000-mile allowance. Either way, both dealers beat Ford's own $389 factory lease, which also demands more cash up front and a trade or expiring lease to qualify.
Sources
- Quirk Ford new Ford lease and finance offers near Boston, MA — https://www.quirk-ford.com/new-vehicles/new-ford-lease-and-finance-offers-near-boston-ma/ (checked October 10, 2026)
- Quirk Ford Explorer inventory — https://www.quirk-ford.com/new-vehicles/explorer/ (checked October 10, 2026)
- Herb Chambers Ford of Braintree lease deals — https://www.herbchambersfordofbraintree.com/ford-lease-deals-and-sale-prices-in-south-shore-ma.htm (checked October 10, 2026)
- Jannell Ford new vehicle promotions — https://www.jannellford.com/promotions/new/index.htm (checked October 10, 2026)
- Ford Explorer incentives and offers (2026 and 2027) — https://www.ford.com/suvs/explorer/incentives-and-offers/ (checked October 10, 2026)
- Ford Explorer model pages (2026 and 2027) — https://www.ford.com/suvs/explorer/ (checked October 10, 2026)
- McGovern Ford of Framingham and Bonnell Ford specials pages — checked October 10, 2026; no Explorer lease published.